Motivation

Our aim is to promote and continue to develop climate-friendly logistics through a cross-sectoral and cross-company exchange of knowledge.

The challenge: to identify climate-friendly and economically viable logistical measures

Logistics is the cause of over 5.5 per cent of all greenhouse gas emissions worldwide – and this trend is continuing. For us, this figure is no reason to despair but rather motivation to act!

The Paris Agreement, the Climate Action Plan 2050 and the German government’s planned law on climate protection are creating new framework conditions for the economy and for companies. One thing is clear – businesses will play a key role in achieving climate targets.

But how can logistics processes be modified to allow climate protection and economic benefit to be reconciled? Many companies wish to assume responsibility and put their logistics on a climate-friendly footing. However, faced with complex supply chains and logistics processes, they often lack the knowledge and experience required to take concrete action.

Our proposition: to identify and exploit the opportunities of green logistics


This area of tension between a willingness to act and a lack of experience is where this platform comes in with a proposition. It aims to remove uncertainties and inhibitions through an exchange of experience between companies and sectors. The wealth of experience of many companies in the area of climate-friendly transport is steadily growing. We intend to bundle this local knowledge, thereby promoting the exchange of knowledge and providing new stimuli for greater climate protection in the commercial transport sector.

This collection of best practices is to be presented in a exciting and lively way; every sector and every business is invited to add to the collection. Simply join us here! Climate-protection is a cross-sectional task requiring new ways of thinking and alliances from all of us.

We hope that the business examples will arouse your interest and we look forward to exchanging ideas with you!

This platform was developed from the collaborative project called „Weg in die <2°-Wirtschaft“ (Pathway to a <2° economy). The „Weg in die <2°-Wirtschaft“ project has been jointly organised by the Stiftung 2° – Deutsche Unternehmer für Klimaschutz (2° Foundation – German Businesses for Climate Protection) and WWF Germany and is supported by many more 2° sponsors. The project has been funded by the Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU) (Federal Ministry of the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety) and is assisted by the sustainable AG consulting firm.

Motivation

Unser Ziel ist es, durch einen branchen- und unternehmensübergreifenden Wissensaustausch klimafreundliche Logistik zu fördern und weiterzuentwickeln.

Die Herausforderung: klimafreundliche und wirtschaftlich sinnvolle Logistikmaßnahmen identifizieren

Die Logistik verursacht weltweit mehr als 5,5 Prozent aller Treibhausgasemissionen – Tendenz steigend. Für uns ist eine solche Zahl kein Grund zur Verzweiflung, sondern eine Motivation zum Handeln!

Das Pariser Klimaabkommen, der Klimaschutzplan 2050 und das geplante Klimaschutzgesetz der Bundesregierung setzen neue politische Rahmenbedingungen für die Wirtschaft und Unternehmen. Klar ist: Unternehmen werden eine zentrale Rolle bei der Erreichung der Klimaziele spielen.

Wie aber können Logistikprozesse modifiziert werden, sodass Klimaschutz und wirtschaftlicher Nutzen vereinbart werden? Viele Unternehmen wollen Verantwortung übernehmen und ihre Logistik klimafreundlicher aufstellen. Angesichts komplexer Zulieferketten und Logistikprozesse fehlen oftmals jedoch Wissen und Erfahrung, um ins konkrete Handeln zu kommen.

Unser Angebot: Chancen der grünen Logistik erkennen und nutzen


In diesem Spannungsfeld zwischen Bereitschaft zum Handeln und fehlenden Erfahrungen setzt diese Plattform an und leistet ein Angebot. Unsicherheiten und Hemmschwellen sollen durch den Erfahrungsaustausch zwischen Unternehmen und Branchen abgebaut werden. Der Erfahrungsschatz vieler Unternehmen im Bereich klimaschonender Transportlogistik wächst stetig. Hier wollen wir dieses dezentrale Wissen bündeln, damit den Wissensaustausch fördern und neue Impulse für mehr Klimaschutz im Güterverkehrssektor setzen.

Diese Sammlung von Best Practices soll lebendig gestaltet werden; jede Branche und jedes Unternehmen ist eingeladen, diese Sammlung zu erweitern. Machen Sie einfach hier mit! Klimaschutz ist eine Querschnittsaufgabe und fordert von uns allen neues Denken und neue Allianzen.

Wir hoffen, dass die unternehmerischen Beispiele Ihr Interesse wecken und freuen uns auf den Austausch mit Ihnen!

Entstanden ist diese Plattform im Rahmen des Verbundprojektes „Weg in die <2°-Wirtschaft“. Das Projekt „Weg in die <2°-Wirtschaft“ wurde gemeinsam von der Stiftung 2° – Deutsche Unternehmer für Klimaschutz und WWF Deutschland durchgeführt und durch die 2°-Förderer initiiert. Es wurde vom Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU) gefördert und durch die sustainable AG begleitet.